Microsoft Corporation is an American multinational IT and PC company founded by Bill Gates and Paul Allen that specializes in the development and marketing of operating systems and software.

Microsoft has a global reputation for wanting to democratize access to ICTs throughout the world.  In 2013, Microsoft launched the 4Aftrika initiative designed to stimulate African competitiveness on a global scale.  The objective was to allow young people, entrepreneurs, developers, businessmen and leading figures to actually implement the ideas they had on ways to help their communities, countries, continents or other.

Microsoft was also one of the first firms to emphasize the importance of using ICTs in education.  Today, it runs online training programs such as the Microsoft IT Academy and Teaching with Technology, which allows teachers to incorporate ICTs into their lessons.

“At Microsoft, we believe that all students should have access to the basics like good education. Providing students with access to technology that was beyond their reach is a major step towards obtaining a qualification, employment and a better future.”

Anthony Salcito, Vice-President, Worldwide Education

Microsoft Corporation est une entreprise d’informatique et de micro-informatique multinationale américaine, fondée par Bill Gates et Paul Allen. Son activité principale consiste à développer et vendre des systèmes d’exploitation et des logiciels.

Microsoft est une reconnue dans le monde entier pour sa volonté de démocratiser l’accès aux TIC dans le monde entier. En 2013, Microsoft a lancé l’initiative 4Afrika qui vise à stimuler la compétitivité de l’Afrique sur le plan mondial. L’objectif étant de permettre aux jeunes, aux entrepreneurs, aux développeurs, aux chefs d’entreprise et aux dirigeants de la société civile de concrétiser leurs bonnes idées pour aider leur communauté, leur pays, le continent, et même au-delà.

Microsoft est aussi l’une des premières entreprise a avoir souligné l’importance de l’utilisation des TIC dans l’éduction, aujourd’hui le programmes de formation en ligne tels que Microsoft IT Academy, ou Teaching with Technology permettent aux enseignants d’intégrer les TIC dans leurs cours.

 

« Chez Microsoft, nous croyons que tous les étudiants devraient pouvoir avoir accès aux blocs fondamentaux d’une éducation de qualité. Mettre la technologie entre les mains d’un étudiant qui n’y avait pas accès, est une étape très importante sur le chemin menant à l’obtention du diplôme, à l’emploi et à un avenir meilleur. »

Anthony Salcito, Vice-Président, Worldwide Education